Sushi Town

10 Aug

This week’s AveEater: Mike

Listen, I’m a man who like’s convenient things.  I’m basically a Utilitarian, in the sense that I prefer things that are practical rather than attractive. I’m racing toward old man status with gusto, not because I feel old, but because I’m looking forward to a time when I can make the practical decisions that I enjoy with no fear of social reprisal.  I would probably wear sweatpants regularly if it were socially acceptable.  I look forward to napping whenever I please.

There is no more practical or convenient lunch spot than the conveyor belt sushi establishment.  You walk in the door, they usher you to a booth – who doesn’t love a booth? – and you just sit there and grab the food that looks tasty as it goes by.  It doesn’t get any more convenient than that.  Oh wait, it does: They color code the dish to indicate the price.  If you’re a cheap bastard like me, you load up on cucumber rolls on green plates.  If you’re fancy like Lauren, you eat Seattle rolls (what even is that?) on black plates. Everybody wins!

There is a dude busily making sushi in the open kitchen and when he’s done with said sushi, he foists it onto the aforementioned color coded dish.  So it is with great joy that watch the plates go by and evaluate my sushi moves.  It’s like chess, only your stomach is playing your wallet.  And you get to eat the pieces.

IMG_4658

Ambiance: 

Sushi Town really went for it when they moved in.  They went full on industrial, newage-y.  It’s black walls and rusted metal chandeliers.  That doesn’t sound too good, but I find that it works for the place.  It’s in a basement, so it’s never gonna have great natural light, why not double down on the vibe?  I say kudos to Sushi Town for having a vision.

The put the sushi chefs front and center, so you can watch them work their magic.  I feel like this would make me feel a little exposed and vulnerable if I were a sushi chef, but then, maybe that’s why I’m not a sushi chef.

Cleanliness:

Perhaps it’s just because the place is relatively new, but there is a glossy sheen to Sushi Town that makes the place feel like it’s a hip club from a 1980’s film starring Andrew

McCarthy.  That’s not a bad thing.  It’s probably a good thing.

IMG_4660

Colon Consequences:

I’ve never actually eaten a piece of sushi that I didn’t like on some level, so maybe I’m not being adventurous enough with my sushi consumption, because it does seem like things could easily take a quick turn for the disastrous if you choose poorly (it is raw fish after all), but I always find sushi to be far less hard on the ole GI tract than just about anything.  Sushi Town is no exception to that. I  walked away pleasantly satiated

Originality/Surprises:

What I particularly appreciate about S-Town is that there are a couple of friendly but not pushy younger folks at the front who are happy to take an order for anything that the house makes if you don’t see it on the conveyor.  This is a nice touch.

I kinda thought this was standard at conveyor belt places, but then I went to a shittier conveyor belt place up north (which shall remain nameless) and ordered some stuff from an overworked waiter shilling drinks to patrons and immediately felt like a pompous ass.  Such is my life.

IMG_4642

Taste:

Listen, this isn’t Nashino or Maneki. But then, I don’t want it to be.  I want to get in, eat 6 adequately prepared crunchy tofu rolls (my fave!)

IMG_4640

and get out.  The fish is fresh enough and the options are many.  You’re gonna find something tasty.

IMG_4641

Ave Factor:

S-Town is not exactly brimming with Ave Factor.  Most of that is that it is just new, but the aforementioned industrial, newage-y feel doesn’t really help in this particular category. I don’t yet know if I’d call it a trend, but it seems like many of the new ave restaurants are a little better bankrolled than the last decade.  That will probably help in their staying power, but it steals a little from the plucky, slightly dingy Ave Factor.  Change is the only constant on the Ave people! Get used to it.

Value:

Here’s where Sushi Town excels.  If you know what you’re doing, you can leave brimming with sushi for less than 8 bucks, that’s a screaming deal.

I give it 8/10 Chess pieces

The Awkward Photos!

Our avid readers (Hi Tim!) will notice that Lauren has bangs, making these photos from early 2016.  Yup, that’s how far behind we are in posting.

Here’s hoping this makes you feel better about your own procrastination.  – EUTA team

#SushiTown

 

Leave a comment